Short Course

The route follows a similar clockwise loop as the full course incorporating five of the Lake District’s highest peaks. The course misses out Scafell, Pillar and Skiddaw making this more achievable for a lot of people. Having said that, this is still an incredibly tough challenge and one that deserves to be treated with respect. This is the perfect course for those who aren’t quite ready for the long course but are experienced in the mountains and confident navigators.


The peaks need to be visited on foot in the following order:

  1. Helvellyn, 950m (3,118 ft)
  2. High Raise, 762m (2,500 ft)
  3. Bowfell, 902m (2,960 ft)
  4. Esk Pike, 885m (2,904 ft)
  5. Great End, 910m (2,986 ft)
  6. Scafell Pike, 978m (3,210 ft)
  7. Great Gable, 899m (2,949 ft)
  8. Green Gable, 801 m (2,628 ft)
  9. High Spy, 653 m (2,142 ft)
  10. Maiden Moor, 576m (1,890 ft)